Love at First Sight

Yesterday I happened to wander into a St. Vincent de Paul thrift store. Lots of interesting stuff in there. As I strolled around my attention was drawn to a ratty-looking blazer hanging among other jackets.

Something about it caught my eye. Maybe it was because it was loud. The words ‘horse blanket’ come to mind. Nevertheless, I was drawn to take a closer look. It had a green tag on it that read, $3.75 As-Is.

I looked at it more closely. Something about it, but…I walked away. After all it was moth-eaten and had lost its shape, although it appeared to have been constructed as a very casual jacket. Something prompted me to turn back.  I peeked inside. Pendleton Woolen Mills. Well, I know the Pendleton logo is like a Rolls Royce logo. Their stuff is built to last forever, and this jacket, although perhaps mistreated in its lifetime, was still going strong. Still…

I wandered around looking at some limp neckties and then some kitchen utensils. You never know what gem of a utensil will turn up in a thrift shop. I looked at glassware and wandered into the library three rooms removed from the jacket. I was looking over titles of once popular books when thought I heard a faint voice calling. I stopped browsing and listened.

It was that damned horse blanket.

Okay, I’d go give it another look. I looked at it closely. It had several tiny moth holes in it. It hadn’t been cleaned or pressed in ages. I found a B&W coupon from a pack of Raleigh cigarettes in a pocket. This jacket must be about fifty years old.

Reluctantly I tried it on. A perfect fit. I felt as if I’d been wearing it myself for these past forty years.

I showed it to my wife who didn’t say ‘no way’.

Turned out the green tag was 25% off.  As a veteran I got an additional 10% off and as a (well maintained) senior citizen I earned an additional 10%.

So with 45% off $3.75 I only had to cough up $2.06.

What can I say? I have some nice clothes, but this ratty old jacket is a perfect fit. Most comfortable jacket I’ve tried on in ages and I don’t have to worry for a moment about getting it wrinkled. I slip it on and relax. Just one of those crazy love at first sight moments, and my wife isn’t even jealous.

Image

One thought on “Love at First Sight

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Crime Murder Mystery

From Cambridge Books

Author Jay D.

Welcome to my world

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Urban Fiction News

Where Urban Fiction Gets Its News!!!!

German is easy!

The blog for all who want to learn German...

Manic Readers

This is how I see it.

The Robblog

So Far, So-So

annekedwards

Just another WordPress.com site

Lost Oregon

Reusing and adapting old buildings and Main Streets into new spaces.

